Tuesday, March 18, 2014


WOOHOO!!! I love the day a new Kylie album comes out! It's like Gay-Christmas! So....Christmas. Kylie Minogue is back with her 12th studio album, Kiss Me Once, and it's a doozy. Packed with wall-to-wall dance jams and sweet harmonies, Kiss Me Once is definitely a Kylie album, but with a bit of an twist. Working with some new producers, namely executive producer and hitmaker for the stars Sia Furler, Minogue's stretches her sexy-cutie-pie brand a bit and includes collaborations with Pharrell, Enrique Iglesias and Greg Kirsten. Kicking off with first single, the anthemic Into the Blue, Kiss Me Once delivers several radio-ready tunes. Million Miles is particularly catchy and the Pharrell written and produced I Was Gonna Cancel is easily one of Kylie's funkiest tracks 2003's Red Blooded Woman. More album highlights are Sexercise (I am glad I like that song, but THAT TITLE!!) the light and breezy Feels So Good, which actually a cover of Indiana by Tom Aspaul, and the stunning electro-ballad If Only. Les Sex is the perfect PG-rated raunchiness that Kylie always does so well. The title track sounds like a classic 80s/early 90s Kylie track. It's almost like being in a time machine, y'all! Beautiful is a duet with Enrique Iglesias that sounds a lot like Hide and Seek by Imogen Heap with the use of its vocoder. Quite lovely. Bonus track Mr. President is a hard hitting Trash produced sexy piece of EDM. Pretty sure this has club hit written all the fuck over it. This is worth the price of the Bonus Track edition of Kiss Me Once for sure, but coupled with fellow bonus track, the dreamy Sleeping with the Enemy, produced by Lily Allen collaborator Greg Kurstin, you are getting your moneys' worth fo'sho'. All in all, there is not a bad track on Kiss Me Once, as we've come to expect from Kylie. It's available on iTunes now. Get it! Meanwhile, enjoy the album sampler of Kiss Me Once below.

No comments:

Post a Comment